It Takes Superpowers to Play

I am already stuck with what to write and I haven’t even started yet. I call myself a recovering perfectionist but I think “closet perfectionist” is closer to the truth. I can write a manifesto on several post-it notes but a blank piece of writing paper sends me into a tense display of wide eyed short breath memories of English teachers repeating when my next writing assignment will be due. No really. That is the actual images I put myself through. Some small part of me clearly feels that I am going to mess up, fail, gain disapproval from those I respect, look like a fool, say the wrong thing, hurt someone’s feelings and such.

Funny thing, now that I stated my fears, they just seem silly! Isn’t that the way life works. What we produce in our minds tends to be much worse than what actually happens.  We have superpowers locked in our imagination. Used for bad, negative self-fulfilling prophecies are created. Used for good, and we can conquer the world! Bwahahahahahaha!!!! I see this physically reflected from horses weekly.

I have the awesome perspective of watching people ride for a living. I get to see the horse choose to respond or react to a person’s direction (or lack of direction). When a rider becomes focused on staying between the lines, they risk the danger of disconnecting from the horse. This is why we need to do our homework and practice with a healthy dose of play involved. Many times I will use play as an ending to a focused training ride. Along with my horse, I will let off the pressure, relax myself, breathe deeply and go outside or chase a big ball in the arena. So many of the horses I have ridden are willing to play with me without much provocation. It is in their nature and they love a human who can play with them as well.

Play does not mean let them walk all over you, stand in their “kick-zone”, trot or canter willy-nilly or laugh at their mean faces thrown your way. Stay realistic people. It is still a really big animal and a healthy dose of respect is required by both partners. Be safe but be willing to ride with the simple goal of seeing how long you can smile, without a pattern or set of rigid rules. And try new things that will expand the horizons for both of you. Use your super-powers for good and imagine what the two of you can do just for the heck of it.

Kim

Image

Leave a comment